Not a Fan Part 3

I hope you are all having a blessed day.  Hopefully you guys have been keeping up with the Not a Fan series…you can read them here and here.

I want to remind you that this isn’t really considered a book review. These are just some of the thoughts that the book influenced.  Also, keep in mind that these videos only include a portion of the book.  So read it! 😉

Here is video #3:

So what did I get from this section of the book?  The part that I could really relate to was the story of the girl getting baptized.  I grew up Catholic all my life. I was involved the youth group and even in the worship. When I met my husband, who was Christian, I really enjoyed his church but I couldn’t let go of my Catholic background.  No one was asking me too but I felt like I had to protect my relationship {with my church}. I always felt like I would disappoint my family if I left my Catholic background. As I got closer and closer to God I realized that while I was growing up I had a {relationship} to my church…not to Him.  I’m not saying this is the case for every Catholic but this was my situation and I know that God was calling me to something more.

On March 23, 2013  was when I really let it all go.  I had just started going back to my husband’s church about 3 months before.  On this day they had their monthly EPIC Worship Encounter. Up to this point, I was never able to raise my hands during worship or show any emotion at all because I didn’t grow up doing that in mass.  Well at one point during the worship I just couldn’t take it anymore. I got a big lump in my throat and I started to feel pressure in my chest and I felt like I was going to explode.  I just couldn’t do it anymore…I truly felt God telling me to just let go.  So I did.

Why am I telling you all of this?  This was the moment that I stopped associating myself with a religion but associating myself as a follower of Christ…it wasn’t an easy decision to make. Why? Because my entire family was still Catholic. I didn’t want them to reject me and my decision.  I didn’t want my friends, who knew of my bad habits, to think I was a hypocrite either.  However, on that day in March I decided that I wanted to love Jesus more that anything. I wanted Him to be my one and only. I needed him.  He had been there with arms wide open waiting for me to make the decision to choose him…that day was when I finally chose him.

094a167a452f21d7a22a14ad6c7b2cd6

So what happens when you choose Jesus over everyone and everything else? Not much really. My family supports me and my friends do too. It was kind of ridiculous for me to think otherwise. I’ve never been given a negative reaction to my decision to serve Jesus.  Now, I know that this is not the case for everyone. I know there are families who break up over decisions like this…and in these cases all I can say is that if you are choosing to follow Jesus He will have your back and shed his grace over you so that you may be a light to those around you.

Choosing Jesus is not easy…but it is well worth it.  Reading this story in the Not a Fan gave me comfort in knowing that I am not the only one who struggled with making the decision to follow Jesus and facing possible rejection.

Make sure and check back tomorrow for part 4!

Be blessed – Moni ❤

 

Leave a Reply

